emusic review by Dave Sumner

CF 253Hugo Carvalhais, Particula (CF 253)
The music on bassist Carvalhais’s 2012 release isn’t going to get described as pretty, but it does possess a strange beauty… a beauty evinced by the confidence of the interplay between musicians. With Emile Parisien on soprano sax, Gabriel Pinto on keys, Dominique Pifarely on violin, and Mario Costa on drums, the quintet’s conversations with one another are crazily interesting, like they’re all brainstorming a fantastic fiction and all on the same page for how they want to story to play out. This music is terribly interesting and very easy to follow along, even though it rarely keeps to a set structure for very long. Adventurous music, and Pick of the Week.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s