Jazzwrap review by Stephan Moore

CF 276Harris Eisenstadt’s September Trio – The Destructive Element (CF 276)
Two years ago, I was floored by the self-titled debut session from this trio of New Yorkers, September Trio. Now with their follow up, The Destructive Element, I can say I’m not surprised by their brilliance. It’s just the way they are.

The movement on The Destructive Element is more fluid and with well balanced song structure. “Swimming” is a beautiful midtempo love letter filled with solid, almost gospel influenced chords from Sanchez. While Eskelin’s romantic but muscular tone feels like Sonny Rollins hovering over the session.

Eisenstadt always seems to write the pieces with his band member’s freedom in mind. On “Back and Forth,” and “The Destructive Element” he gives Sanchez’s classical ideas the floor. And Eskelin layers a solid structure on top. Eisenstadt’s brushes provide the subtle hues for a lovely, all-around experience.

Eisenstadt does allow the session to be ballad or bop driven. The trio embarks on improvisation through “Additives” and “Here Are The Samurai.” Both have rolling melodies from Sanchez and crashing movements of Eisenstadt’s adventurous spirit on the kit. Free-spirited yet providing structure all the way.

The Destructive Element is more developed than it’s predecessor but also slightly different. Still keeping an introspective vibe but also providing more opportunities for its members to expand on their own. Harris Eisenstadt has become an excellent composer in various settings. For me, September Trio is one of his best.
http://jazzwrap.blogspot.pt/

8 responses to “Jazzwrap review by Stephan Moore

  1. I have read so many content concerning the blogger lovers but this paragraph is really a good piece of writing, keep it up.

  2. You’ve made some really good points there. I looked on the
    web for more info about the issue and found most individuals will go along with your views on this website.

  3. Hello! I just wish to give you a huge thumbs up for your excellent info you have got here on
    this post. I’ll be returning to your web site for more soon.

  4. Fastidious answer back in return of this query with solid arguments and explaining
    everything concerning that.

  5. What’s Taking place i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have discovered It absolutely helpful and it has helped me out
    loads. I’m hoping to give a contribution & help different
    users like its helped me. Good job.

  6. Everything is very open with a really clear description of the issues.
    It was truly informative. Your site is extremely helpful.
    Many thanks for sharing!

  7. We stumbled over here from a different page and thought I might check things out.
    I like what I see so i am just following you.

    Look forward to looking at your web page again.

  8. It is the best time to make some plans for the future and it’s time
    to be happy. I have read this post and if
    I could I desire to suggest you few interesting
    things or tips. Perhaps you can write next articles referring
    to this article. I desire to read even more things about it!

Leave a Reply

